Can I Delete and Recreate a Fivetran Platform Connection?
Question
Fivetran automatically created a Fivetran Platform connection in my destination, which uses the schema name fivetran_metadata. If I delete this connection, can I recreate it later?
Environment
Connector: Fivetran Platform Connector
Answer
Yes, you can recreate a deleted Fivetran Platform connection, but you may not be able to restore all previously synced data when you recreate it.
For most connections, we can retrieve historical data from the source during an initial sync. However, for Fivetran Platform connections, we generate log events and metadata directly. When you recreate a connection, we backfill only the previous seven days of LOG and CONNECTOR_SDK_LOG data. You can't recover older log data or previously generated metadata, including schema history, column lineage, and role information.
If you only need to stop syncing temporarily, pause the connection by setting the Enabled toggle to OFF.
Delete and recreate a Fivetran Platform connection
For instructions on deleting the connection, see How Can I Delete a Connection?
To recreate it:
- In Fivetran, go to Connections.
- Click + Add connection.
- Search for Fivetran Platform, then click Set up.
- Enter the Destination schema name and complete the setup.
- Click Save & Test.
For more information, see our Fivetran Platform Connector setup guide.